The Microwave Affect

Those of us who have only experienced life in the 21st century in first world countries are very lucky human beings. Everything you could possibly want or need is only a click away in most cases. We don’t have to wait for anything to be quite honest. The most waiting we have to do is for the browser page to load (and let’s be real those are the longest five seconds ever) or the microwave to beep. And be honest,when your Lean Cuisine says microwave it on 50% power for ten minutes you leave it on 100% and cut the time in half because you don’t want to wait. I’m just as guilty as anyone. Put me in front of a slow internet connection and I will not be happy and probably say a few colorful words to express my frustration. Everything is just so readily available to us and we take it for granted. We just assume that everything should be available to us within a few seconds and we get frustrated when it’s not.

Well there are a few things that can’t be fixed within the span of a few seconds or minutes and two of them are your health and your heart. And for me both of those things were broken over the last twelve months. I never thought that heart break would hurt as much as physical pain, or worse at times. I never thought that I would take more than a week to get over it, but it did. It took a whole lot longer than a week and that made me frustrated on top of broken, probably the worst combination. The agony lasted for an extended period of time, as many of my close friends can attest to. But eventually the pain began to decrease as the days passed. First I went a day or so without thinking of him, then weeks, and I’m still waiting for it to be months, but someday.

And of course when that pain was finally under control I got into a car accident, which included both physical and emotional pain. It was hard, extremely hard. It was frustrating beyond belief and I was not a happy camper, to say the very least. I thought that once I was done with surgeries and out of that hospital room everything would be fine and back to normal. Well it’s almost five months since that day and things are not back to normal. I didn’t get that instant gratification that I wanted, I didn’t experience what I have called The Microwave Affect. No, unfortunately I can’t be fixed as quickly as a piece of pizza can be reheated. (Although I’m sure we’re not far from that being a possibility in a few decades.) And part of me is still really frustrated and upset about that. I’ve missed out on a lot of things because they are simply not practical at the moment and I just feel like I’m wasting a lot of time doing nothing. But another part of me knows that this whole experience is making me stronger both physically and emotionally, that when I am back to “normal” I will look back on this experience be thankful that it took longer than five minutes. I will be grateful for that waiting time, a time to grow.

So I guess what I’m trying to say is that in a world where everything moves so quickly and five minutes literally feels like five weeks, we all need to calm down and take time to enjoy the wait. Maybe learn a thing or two from it.

Leave a Reply

