The Art Of Being Excited

When did you stop being excited about life? When did you start to think it wasn’t okay for you to jump up and down about an important or exciting event/thing in your life? When did you think you were too old to be excited? For me that day has not come yet, and hopefully it will never come because being excited about anything is one of the absolute best feelings in the world. Excitement means that something worth doing, watching, or talking about is going to happen. But it seems to me that once you hit a certain age in your life it’s not okay to outwardly show your excitement, and why is that?

As I registered for Vidcon 2015 I could feel the excitement bubbling under my skin and the smile on my face grow wider and wider as I progressed to the end of the registration. And when I was done and it was confirmed that I had in fact purchased a pass for the three-day YouTube convention in California I wanted to dance around my room to every upbeat pop song and jump up and down. (I didn’t do that, but for physical restrictions, not because I would be embarrassed.) Instead I just geeked out on the phone with my best friend as she too completed her registration. I was (and still am) so excited for this event and I just wanted everyone to know it. But I stopped for a moment and asked myself would people even care? Would people think I was a weirdo or immature for being excited about something as stereotypically nerdy as a YouTube convention? The answers to these questions are most likely: no they don’t care, and yes they will think I’m immature BUT I DO NOT CARE!

photo credit: weheartit.com

photo credit: weheartit.com

Let me tell you why I don’t care if people think I’m immature for being excited about Vidcon, book releases, movie premiers, concerts, getting Taco Bell for lunch or a Starbucks drink while shopping, it’s because I enjoy all of those things immensely and I don’t want to stop enjoying them. I don’t want to stop thinking that those things are special and should be exciting to me. Once you stop getting excited about the little things life becomes extremely dull and rather unimportant. And if you are excited about something why is it so shameful or immature to show that? The answer is: it’s not in anyway. Being excited about something is just a way of showing that you really really like that something and you’re supposed to like things! You’re supposed to enjoy life and all the things that you can do during it! You’re supposed to be passionate about things because if you’re not passionate about anything what are you doing with your life?

So the next time something really great happens to you or a really cool event you’re going to is coming up TELL EVERYONE ABOUT IT! Share your excitement with people close to you and abuse all of the happy and relevant emojis you want! Because it is okay to be excited because it is the best feeling you can feel and don’t let the grumps rain on your parade! Telling people they can’t be excited about something is telling someone they can’t be happy and who ate all of their pink starbursts to make them such a grump!?

also I AM SO EXCITED TO BE GOING TO VIDCON THIS SUMMER AND I WILL TELL EVERYONE I MEET THAT I AM GOING TO IT AND IT’S SO EXCITING AND BECAUSE I AM A PRO AT BEING EXCITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :D :D :D

What are you excited for or about? Tell me and everyone else about it! Spread the excitement!

Leave a Reply

