Being Christ-like

“If you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely” – Roald Dahl

The above is one of my all-time favorite quotes and something that I firmly believe in. If you think good thoughts you will look and actually be a happier and lovely person. If you think good things you will also, most probably, do more good things. But after a chat with one of my closest and best friends I started thinking about this quote and my responsibility as a follower of Jesus Christ and it’s got me in the writing mood, so here we go.

Now the Roald Dahl quote doesn’t exclusively mention Christians, it is to everyone. It says that if you think good thoughts that you will look good, basically. But if you think about the quote from the perspective of a Christian it can mean something a bit differently. What I’m getting at is that if I think about Jesus and actually think WWJD (What Would Jesus Do), rather than just wear the bracelet, then will people be able to see his light shining through me? If I act Christ-like will people see his power and greatness through me? Is that how this is all supposed to work? I honestly don’t have the answer.

Yes, there are probably a few verses that I could quote here that tell me that yes, that is exactly what I should do. But then again there are verses that tell me not to wear that poly-blend shirt I have. I’m getting off track, so let’s back track. The idea that in order for people to see Jesus through or in you, you first have to act how Jesus would. But for starters, that is hard, like really hard. Jesus was and is perfect, not perfect in the sense that his clothes were never wrinkled or his sandals were never dirty. Jesus was perfect in the sense that he never had an impure thought or was unkind to anyone he came in contact with. Now, for me, the no wrinkles and clean sandals is a bit more easier to keep under control than always being kind and thinking pure thoughts. And it isn’t that I don’t want to do those things it is just difficult sometimes. It is difficult to be kind and smile at the person in front of you at the checkout who has clearly never used a self-checkout before. It’s difficult and I am not always successful at it, that is for certain.

So being Christ-like isn’t exactly an easy task, but if someone is being Christ-like in the moment how can you tell if they are truly filled with the spirit and love of God or they’re just a nice person? This is where things turn to grey. I can help others and be kind all day long, but will people really see Jesus’ love shining in me or will they just assume I’m a nice person? How do I get them to realize that I am filled with the love of my Savior without verbally telling them? Because if I tell them I helped them with their groceries because the Holy Spirit moved me to it seems like I’m making a joke of it and I’m not sincere. Is telling them ‘God Bless’ or ‘Have a blessed day’ as I leave their company good enough?

I don’t have the answers to these questions; if I did they wouldn’t have been in here. For the time being I am going to go to the source (The Bible) and try to figure things out. But for now I will continue to try my best to let the light of Jesus and His love for me shine out of my face like the light of a thousand suns by loving and helping those I come in contact with however I can. And I’ll get back to you on whether that is enough.

Leave a Reply

